Japanese Forces

  • Captain Kiyoto Kagawa

Destroyer Division 31

Part of Destroyer Squadron 2, 2nd Fleet
  • Captain Kiyoto Kagawa
  • DD Onami (force flagship)(force flagship) (sunk)(sunk)
    Commanding officer: Commander Kiyoshi Kikkawa
  • DD Makinami (sunk)(sunk)
    Commanding officer: Commander Toyoji Hitomi

Destroyer Squadron 3

Part of 8th Fleet

Destroyer Division 11

  • DD Amagiri
    Commanding officer: Lt. Commander Kouhei Hanami
  • DD Yugiri (sunk)(sunk)
    Commanding officer: Lt. Commander Shuuichi Otsuji

Destroyer Division 30

  • DD Uzuki
    Commanding officer: Lt. Yoshiro Watanabe

American Forces

Destroyer Squadron 23
  • Captain Arleigh Burke

Destroyer Division 45

  • Charles F. Ausburne (DD-570) (force flagship)(force flagship)
    Commanding officer: Commander Luther K. Reynolds
  • Claxton (DD-571)
  • Dyson (DD-572)
    Commanding officer: Commander R. A. Gano

Destroyer Division 46

  • Converse (DD-509)
    Commanding officer: Commander D. C. Hamberger
  • Spence (DD-512)
    Commanding officer: Commander H. J. Armstrong


  • "Warship Profile #9, USS Charles Ausburne" by Commander W. Cracknell, USN
  • "Chronology of the War at Sea 1939-1945" by J. Rohwer & G. Hummelchen
  • "The Battle History of the Imperial Japanese Navy (1941-1945)" by P. Dull
  • "Long Lancers" by Allyn D. Nevitt, at the Nihon Kaigun website